Toblerone has surprisingly become the target of a boycott from far-right wing supporters, as shown by recent statements released on social media. The US-based manufacturer Mondelez which produces the Swiss delicacy declared that the product has officially been branded as ‘halal’, angering many consumers of the chocolate treat.
The company has underlined the fact that no part of the recipe which constitutes to the making of the famous triangle shaped chocolates has been altered. Mondelez has been producing halal confectionary for several months now and has recently decided to label Toblerone as Muslim friendly to the public.
Translated from Arablic, ‘Halal’ implies that something is pure, and thus members of the Muslim faith are allowed to consume the food under the pretext of Islamic Law. The faith excludes alcohol and pork to be consumed by its followers, and meat must only be eaten if the animal has been killed in a specific way with the reading of religious scripture. However, since Toblerone is already made without using pork gelatine, Muslims are allowed to eat it, along with many Vegetarians as well.
However, not all online commentators were pleased with the news released about the Toblerone factory in Bern Switzerland, regarding its achievement of halal certification back in April of 2018. Jörg Meuthen of the German Nationalist Party the AfD, released the following statement on his Facebook page: “Islamisation does not take place – neither in Germany nor in Europe… It is therefore certainly pure coincidence that the depicted, known chocolate variety is now certified as HALAL” he wrote sarcastically.
Many people agreed with Meuthen’s post, and lashed out with their own statements of outrage: “Too bad, I like to eat. But I don’t like Muslim food,” wrote another Facebook user.
Others saw no reason for the outcry, and chastised those who were posting Islamaphobic comments on the internet: “I don’t see a problem with this. What do you want to do about this?” someone wrote. “Halal means that it can also be eaten by Muslims. No one would be outraged if it said ‘gluten free’ on the packet”.
“Anyone who has the power and time to get upset about such nonsense must not be surprised by the (ridicule),” said someone else.