The 4th Asian Football Awards

The 4th Asian Football Awards took place in London at the prestigious Grange St Paul’s Hotel.

The 4th Asian Football Awards took place in London at the prestigious Grange St Paul’s Hotel. The awards were set up to reward Asians in the footballing world, and to give them the recognition they deserve. This gave them the platform to show off their skills, as well as telling the world that coaches, players, volunteers etc. Can be Asian too, and
their love for the beautiful game is just as much as anyone else’s.

Founder of the Asian Football Awards, Baljit Rihal, said this after the event; “Asian communities are some of the most likely to play football in England at grassroots and recreational level. However, these numbers are not reflected with players at the elite end or more broadly within the administration of the game.”

“These awards have been about focusing on the positive stories of role models within the Asian community. The Young Player shortlist showed us that we have a bright future if these young men are indeed afforded regular first-team football. Easah Suliman has given us hope by becoming the first Asian to captain an England team – furthermore
his goal to help England U19s win the Euros was a historic event for the Asians
in Football movement.”

“For the first time we have introduced The Women’s Player Award – Maya Vio has been outstanding for Spurs Ladies and my hope is that more Asian women follow her example and get involved in football and aspire to playing at the elite level.”


FOUNDERS PLAYER RECOGNITION AWARD: Danny Batth (Captain Wolverhampton Wanderers FC)
MEDIA AWARD: Seema Jaswal (Premier League TV & FIFA U17 World Cup Anchor)
YOUNG PLAYER AWARD: Easah Suliman (Aston Villa FC & England)
COACH AWARD: Taff Rahman (Coach Educator at The FA)
WOMEN’S PLAYER AWARD: Maya Vio (Spurs Ladies FC)
NON-LEAGUE PLAYER AWARD: Amar Purewal (West Auckland FC & Panjab FA)
GRASSROOTS AWARD: Kulwinder Singh Johal (GNG FC Leicester)
BEHIND THE SCENES AWARD: Humayun Islam (Shapla Sports & Bangla Bantams)
TEAM AWARD: Panjab Football Association
FA FOR ALL AWARD: Stanmore Jafferys Football Academy

No Comment

Leave a Reply